TP-Link Tapo H200 V1 Smart Hub
From Wiki-IoT
| TP-Link Tapo H200 V1 Smart Hub | ||
|---|---|---|
|
Security Grade
Calculator v1
|
TP-Link Tapo H200 Smart Hub
Brand: TP-Link / Tapo (Parent: TP-Link) Category: Smart Hub • Model / Gen: V1 H200 Release Date: 2023-03-08 • Status: In sale Classification Date: 2025-10-15 • Official Website | |
Contents
Security Evaluation
1. Device Security
| Criterion | Value | Proof | Comment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Known hardware tampering | None | ๐ Proof | I found no credible reports of physical tampering attacks on this hub |
| Known vulnerabilities | None | ๐ Proof | There is a known moderate vulnerability, but it requires physical access and firmware reverse engineering |
| Prior attacks | None | ๐ Proof | Although the vulnerability is disclosed, I did not locate confirmed large-scale attacks |
| Updatability | Very common | ๐ Proof | The device supports firmware updates via the TP-Link / Tapo infrastructure |
| Category Score | Score: 1 / 3 | ||
2. System Security
| Criterion | Value | Proof | Comment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Authentication with other systems | Full | ๐ Proof | Because it works with external ecosystems |
| Communications | Encrypted with up-to-date encryption | ๐ Proof | I did not find a public statement confirming that all communications |
| Storage | Encrypted with up-to-date encryption | ๐ Proof | no clear evidence that the stored data is encrypted at rest. |
| Category Score | Score: 1 / 3 | ||
3. User Authentication
| Criterion | Value | Proof | Comment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Account management | Full | ๐ Proof | Users have full account-level control via the Tapo / TP-Link account |
| Authentication | Secure | ๐ Proof | Authentication uses passwords plus optional 2FA to secure logins |
| Brute-force protection | Exist | ๐ Proof | Likely there is some protection (rate limits, login throttling) though explicit documentation is weak |
| Event logging | Access event logged | ๐ Proof | Itโs unclear if the hub logs all account or access events; there may be limited audit logs in app or cloud |
| Passwords | Require change after setup with complexity requirements | ๐ Proof | I did not find confirmation that the hub forces complexity or forces a password change on first setup |
| Category Score | Score: 1 / 3 | ||
Technical Specifications
| Property | Details |
|---|---|
| Operating System & App | Embedded firmware (Companion App: Tapo app (iOS / Android) for configuration, management) |
| Hardware (CPU / GPU) | CPU: not publicly disclosed • GPU: not publicly disclosed |
| Memory & Storage | Memory: not publicly disclosed • Storage: microSD card (up to 512 GB) |
| Power, Battery & Charging | Battery: It is mains powered hub, no battery mentioned in specs st • Power: 9 V, 0.85 A (adapter) • Charging: Not applicable |
| Display & Camera | Display: No display component • Camera: The hub itself does not include a camera |
| Sound & Connectivity | Sound: The hub plays ringtones / chimes but no โspeaker/micโ is reported as a full sound system • Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi + Sub-1G wireless (for sensors / switches / devices) |
| Physical (Dimensions & Mass) | Dimensions: 71.45 ร 71.45 ร 31.25 mm • Mass: not clearly disclosed in source |