TP-Link Kasa Smart Plug Mini (HS103)

From Wiki-IoT



TP-Link Kasa Smart Plug Mini (HS103)
Security Grade
   
     C
   
Calculator v1
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini
   Category: Smart plug (Wi-Fi) • Model / Gen:  HS103 (multi-packs HS103P2, HS103P3, HS103P4)
   Release Date: 2022-05-23 • Status: 
   Classification Date: 2026-10-28 • Official Website

Security Evaluation

1. Device Security

Criterion Value Proof Comment
Known hardware tampering Rare — No hardware tampering reports found in my search.
Known vulnerabilities Rare 🔗 Proof TP-Link advisory CVE-2026-108473 (Oct 2026, CVSS v4.0 8.7): improper authentication in the local management protocol of Kasa devices incl. HS103.
Prior attacks Rare 🔗 Proof Researcher proof-of-concept clients exist for the Kasa local protocol; no in-the-wild attacks found.
Updatability Very common 🔗 Proof TP-Link publishes firmware fixes via its Download Center and app (advisory updated Oct 14, 2026).
Category Score Score: 2 / 3

2. System Security

Criterion Value Proof Comment
Authentication with other systems Partial 🔗 Proof Cloud features use a TP-Link account, but local management lacked adequate authentication (CVE-2026-108473).
Communications Encrypted with obselete encryption 🔗 Proof Older Kasa plugs used a trivial XOR autokey scheme on TCP 9999; the 2026 advisory also reports insufficient protection of account-related communications.
Storage No encryption 🔗 Proof University study of Kasa devices read location and usage data via the local protocol; HS103 itself was not tested.
Category Score Score: 3 / 3

3. User Authentication

Criterion Value Proof Comment
Account management Full — Managed through a Kasa/TP-Link account and the Kasa Smart app.
Authentication Basic 🔗 Proof Account login for cloud use; local management protocol was unauthenticated; no two-factor authentication found in my search.
Brute-force protection Basic — No public documentation found.
Event logging Partial logging — No public documentation of an access log found.
Passwords Default/Common/Easy to guess 🔗 Proof Local control requires no password (CVE-2026-108473); cloud access uses the user's own TP-Link account password.
Category Score Score: 2 / 3

Technical Specifications

Property Details
Operating System & App Not disclosed (Companion App: Kasa Smart)
Hardware (CPU / GPU) CPU: Not disclosed • GPU: Not disclosed
Memory & Storage Memory: Not disclosed • Storage: Not disclosed
Power, Battery & Charging Battery: None • Power: 100–120 V AC, 15 A max load • Charging: N/A
Display & Camera Display: None (LED indicators, power/settings button) • Camera: None
Sound & Connectivity Sound: None • Connectivity: Wi-Fi 4 (802.11n), 2.4 GHz only, 1T1R
Physical (Dimensions & Mass) Dimensions: 66.5 × 40.0 × 38.0 mm (H×W×D) • Mass: Not disclosed


The Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini (HS103) is a low-cost Wi-Fi plug controlled via the Kasa app and TP-Link cloud. In October 2026 TP-Link disclosed an improper-authentication flaw in the local management protocol of several Kasa devices, including HS103, and released firmware fixes. Earlier research on Kasa plugs found an unauthenticated local protocol with weak obfuscation. Positives are active vendor patching and a published security advisory. Summary:Initial classification of TP-Link Kasa Smart Plug Mini (HS103)