Synology RT6600ax

From Wiki-IoT



Synology RT6600ax
Security Grade
   
     B
   
Calculator v1
Synology RT6600ax Tri-Band Wi-Fi 6 Router
   Brand: Synology (Parent: Synology Inc.)
   Category: Wireless router • Model / Gen: First Synology Wi-Fi 6 router generation (2022) RT6600ax
   Release Date: 2022-05-11 • Status: In sale
   Classification Date: 2026-10-26 • Official Website

Security Evaluation

1. Device Security

Criterion Value Proof Comment
Known hardware tampering Rare πŸ”— Proof Rare is a contributor-supplied qualitative assessment based on physical disassembly being possible and no public in-the-wild hardware-tampering reports identified in the supplied assessment. The manufacturer documents external ports and a reset button, not a measured tampering frequency. Absence of identified reports is not proof that no tampering has occurred.
Known vulnerabilities Very common https://www.synology.com/en-global/security/advisory/Synology_SA_23_10 πŸ”— Proof Qualitative historical rating: multiple SRM 1.3 vulnerabilities have been officially disclosed. SA-22:25 was fixed in 1.3.1-9346-3; SA-23:10 in 1.3.1-9346-6. This is not a claim that current patched firmware remains vulnerable.
Prior attacks Rare πŸ”— Proof Rare is a provisional frequency judgment, not a measured rate. A Synology Router Team notice dated 24 August 2023 confirms SRM exploitation attempts associated with SA-22:25. It does not identify a count of compromised RT6600ax units.
Updatability Very common https://global.download.synology.com/download/Document/Software/UserGuide/Os/SRM/1.3/enu/Syno_UsersGuide_Router_1.3_enu.pdf πŸ”— Proof The router supports free SRM updates, manual firmware installation and configurable update checking/installation. Repeated security-fix releases are documented. Very common describes ongoing update support, not a guaranteed schedule.
Category Score Score: 2 / 3

2. System Security

Criterion Value Proof Comment
Authentication with other systems Partial https://global.download.synology.com/download/Document/Software/UserGuide/Os/SRM/1.3/enu/Syno_UsersGuide_Router_1.3_enu.pdf πŸ”— Proof Partial is a capability-based assessment: SRM supports directory integration and certificate-based secure connections, but universal mutual authentication across all enabled services is not established. Protocol and configuration dependent.
Communications Encrypted with up-to-date encryption https://global.download.synology.com/download/Document/Software/UserGuide/Os/SRM/1.3/enu/Syno_UsersGuide_Router_1.3_enu.pdf πŸ”— Proof Assessment assumes WPA3 Wi-Fi and HTTPS management are configured. WPA3 and HTTPS are supported; legacy wireless modes and HTTP are also available. This rating does not imply all traffic is encrypted by default.
Storage No encryption https://fehmijaafar.net/wiki-iot/index.php/Methodology πŸ”— Proof No encryption is selected using the contributor-supplied assessment of internal firmware/flash storage; Partial is not an available form option. The supplied assessment states that internal 4 GB eMMC firmware/partitions are unencrypted, but capacity and internal encryption status have not been independently verified. Official SRM documentation establishes optional encrypted shared folders on external USB storage, not encryption of internal flash.
Category Score Score: 2 / 3

3. User Authentication

Criterion Value Proof Comment
Account management Full πŸ”— Proof Administrators can create, edit and delete users and assign per-user folder permissions. Rates documented account-management capability, not a tested deployment.
Authentication Basic https://global.download.synology.com/download/Document/Software/UserGuide/Os/SRM/1.3/enu/Syno_UsersGuide_Router_1.3_enu.pdf πŸ”— Proof Basic is a conservative recovery-aware assessment. Two-step verification is available and can be enforced, but a physical four-second soft reset resets administrator-level passwords. It is not classified as recovery-proof authentication.
Brute-force protection Exist πŸ”— Proof Auto Block can block client IP addresses after a configurable number of failed logins within a specified time. Rates available protection; activation and thresholds depend on configuration.
Event logging Partial logging https://kb.synology.com/en-sg/SRM/help/SRM/LogCenter/logcenter_search?version=1_3 πŸ”— Proof Conservative partial-logging assessment: Log Center supports local event collection, search, archival and export. Completeness of access-event coverage across all services has not been independently tested.
Passwords Require change after setup https://kb.synology.com/en-sg/SRM/help/SRM/ControlPanel/user?version=1_3 πŸ”— Proof The setup wizard requires creation of an administrator account. The second option is used for mandatory initial credential creation; optional configurable password-strength rules are documented, but mandatory complexity at first setup is not established.
Category Score Score: 2 / 3

Technical Specifications

Property Details
Operating System & App Synology Router Manager (SRM) 1.3 series; install the latest compatible update (Companion App: DS router (Android/iOS); optional VPN Plus and DS file)
Hardware (CPU / GPU) CPU: Quad-core 1.8 GHz (chip model not specified in official specifications) • GPU: Not specified by the manufacturer
Memory & Storage Memory: 1 GB DDR3 • Storage: Internal flash capacity not specified; external storage via USB 3.2 Gen 1
Power, Battery & Charging Battery: No operational battery specified; AC-powered router; RTC battery not verified • Power: AC adapter input: 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz; consumption: 11.11 W access, 6.77 W idle • Charging: Not applicable - powered by an AC adapter, not a rechargeable portable device
Display & Camera Display: Status LEDs; no graphical display specified • Camera: Not applicable - no camera specified
Sound & Connectivity Sound: No speaker or microphone specified • Connectivity: Tri-band 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax (4800 + 1200 + 600 Mbps); 1 x 2.5GbE WAN/LAN, 1 x GbE WAN, 3 x GbE LAN; 1 x USB 3.2 Gen 1
Physical (Dimensions & Mass) Dimensions: 175 x 320 x 200 mm (H x W x D; antennas upright) • Mass: 1.6 kg


RESEARCH DRAFT - ALL RATING CONTROLS COMPLETED; SOURCE LIMITATIONS REQUIRE REVIEW. Hardware tampering (Rare) and internal-flash storage (No encryption) follow the contributor-supplied assessment. These two selections are not independently verified manufacturer findings; the supplied 4 GB eMMC capacity and unencrypted internal-partition claim still require a direct technical source. No encryption refers only to internal flash, not to optional encrypted external shared folders. Other ratings are qualitative assessments with scope limitations in each comment, not measurements of attack frequency or observations from a tested unit. Communications assumes WPA3 and HTTPS are configured. Historical SRM vulnerabilities and the 2023 router-team attack notice do not establish compromise of every RT6600ax or vulnerability of current patched firmware. Initial administrator credential creation is mapped to the closest password option; compulsory first-setup complexity is not established. Unspecified hardware details remain marked as such. Release date source: https://www.synology.com/en-au/company/news/article/RT6600ax . General and hardware specifications: https://www.synology.com/en-us/products/RT6600ax . No physical-device testing was performed.