Crim reveals the recipients of its graduate scholarships program for 2018

CRIM is pleased to announce the recipients of its Graduate Scholarships Program established in 2016.

The recipients of the 2018 edition are:

1)      Arushi Jain, a Master’s student in Computer Science at McGill University under the supervision of Professor Doina Precup. She will work with Fehmi Jaafar, researcher in cybersecurity at CRIM, on her research topic: Problems pertaining to AI safety; introducing safety in Hierarchical Reinforcement Learning.

2)      João Monteiro, PhD student at the National Institute of Scientific Research under the supervision of Professor Tiago Falk, will continue his work in automatic speaker verification with the assistance of Jahangir Alam, researcher in the Speech and Text team.

The CRIM Graduate Scholarships Program aims to provide financial support to outstanding master’s and doctoral students working in various sectors of applied information technology research. This program is one of the means CRIM uses to develop its ties with the university community by offering students an opportunity to complement their academic training with hands-on R&D experience, all in collaboration with the university research director.

The CRIM Bursary Program operates on the basis of an annual competition. Scholarships are awarded on merit in relation to all applications submitted, based on quality of the CV, school transcripts and relevance of the research project to CRIM.